Spotlight series #60 : Carleen Tibbetts

rob mclennan
2 min readApr 5, 2021

--

Curated by Canadian writer, editor and publisher rob mclennan, the “spotlight” series appears the first Monday of every month.

STATEMENT

My poems often deal with the lack/failure of language to communicate as well as a feminist theory of sorts. My process involves me reading lots of work by other artists, or any material I can get my hands on, and jotting down words, sometimes phrases I like. Then I sort of play a verbal Jenga and pair certain phrases together or move words here or there until I think, “That sounds good” (I always read my poems aloud while I write — that’s essentially my editing process).

Carleen Tibbetts is the author of the chapbooks to exosk(elle), the last sugar (Zoo Cake Press), and DATACLYSM.jpg (Radioactive Cloud), as well as the full-length DATACLYSM.jpg (White Stag). Her work has appeared in TYPO, jubilat, Sink, Deluge, Dreginald, and other publications. With Isobel O’Hare and Kenning Garcia, she co-edits Dream Pop Press.

--

--